Send a note to thank Rep. Mark Pocan: Pocan Leads 40 Dems Demanding Condemnation of Israeli Demolitions

Press release Nov. 2020. MADISON, WI – Congressman Mark Pocan (D-WI) led a letter of 40 Democrats to Secretary of State Mark Pompeo demanding condemnation of the Israeli government’s demolition of 76 structures in Palestinian Bedouin community of Homsa al-Baquia (Khierbet Humsah)—displacing 73 people including 41 children—and to secure a commitment from the Israeli government to end any further displacements immediately. Tomorrow, Secretary Pompeo will make an unprecedented and disgraceful visit to a winery in Psagot, the first ever official visit by a sitting Secretary of State to an Israeli settlement in occupied territory. “Demolishing Palestinian homes, in occupied territory, by the Israeli government is a violation of international law and must be condemned by the United States government,” said Congressman Pocan. “The Netanyahu government is attempting to use the cover of our presidential election to commit gross human rights atrocities and the largest single demolition of a Palestinian community in a decade. Destroying homes and displacing 41 Palestinian children demonstrates a clear act of aggression by the state of Israel and is intentionally oppositional to securing peace or a two-state solution in the region. There is no excuse for the de facto annexation of Palestinian land, and America cannot remain silent in the face of these human rights abuses any longer.”

The letter was also signed by Representatives Pramila Jayapal, Barbara Lee, Joaquin Castro, James P. McGovern, Marcy Kaptur, Jahana Hayes, Raúl M. Grijalva, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Gerald E. Connolly, Jan Schakowsky, Ro Khanna, Judy Chu, Donald S. Beyer Jr., Betty McCollum, Ayanna Pressley, Paul D. Tonko, Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr., Daniel T. Kildee, Peter Welch, Dwight Evans, André Carson, Ilhan Omar, Alan Lowenthal, Lloyd Doggett, Jared Huffman, Rashida Tlaib, Bobby L. Rush, Peter A. DeFazio, Jamie Raskin, Chellie Pingree, John Yarmuth, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, David E. Price, Danny K. Davis, Earl Blumenauer, Debbie Dingell, Rosa DeLauro, Jesús G. “Chuy” García, Anna Eshoo, and Nydia M. Velázquez.

You can write to Rep. Pocal at

Alert sent to WNPJ by MRSCP -