Plowshare’s 2018 Peacebuilder Award Recipients

Plowshare’s 2018 Peacebuilder Award Recipients

Annual Peacebuilder Award is presented to groups and individuals who have made significant contributions to peace and/or social justice in Southeastern Wisconsin by enhancing understanding and cooperation among people from diverse ethnic, religious, racial and/or socioeconomic backgrounds.  The Peacebuilder Award, named in honor of peace and social justice advocate and Plowshare co-founder Kate Delaney Jolin, was initiated in 2014.  In conferring this award, Plowshare seeks to enhance community awareness of the work that is being done by local groups and individuals to "make peace relevant to the world around us."

The recipients of the 2018 Peacebuilder Awards are:

Individual award:  Ruth Page Jones – Executive Director of the Christmas Clearing Council of Waukesha County for the past 12 years. Ruth was an organizer of the project ABC (Advocating on Behalf of Children) from 1997-2007.

Group award:  Adaptive Community Approach Program – ACAP began in 1982 and their mission is to encourage people with disabilities to achieve their highest potential and to acquire life-long skills that will enable them to become contributing and valued members within their communities. The members of ACAP are involved in Theater productions, outdoor camping adventures, charity sewing projects, cookie sales, and much more!

This year's Peacebuilder Awards was presented at Plowshare's 29th Anniversary Celebration held in the Stackner Ballroom at Carroll University the evening of Friday, March 23, 2018.


Ruth Page Jones & Therese Arkenberg


Lisa Dufresne, Carol Ann Kay, Eric Sylla, Therese Arkenberg


Plowshare Fair Trade Marketplace
219 W. Main St. 
Waukesha, WI

Be the change you wish to see in the world - Mahatma Gandhi